Nuclear Engineering Division

Opportunities within NE Division

Visit Argonne
Work with Argonne
Contact us

Site Map

Join us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter NE on Flickr NE on YouTube

Reactors designed by Argonne National Laboratory


Elmer Lewis to receive ANS Wigner Award

Dr. Elmer Lewis

Professor Elmer Lewis
(image credit: Northwestern University)

July 16, 2014

Elmer Lewis, a long-standing special-term appointee in the Nuclear Engineering Division and its predecessors, has been selected to receive the American Nuclear Society (ANS) Reactor Physics Division’s Eugene P. Wigner Reactor Physicist Award. This is one of the society’s highest professional technical awards. The award will be presented to Lewis at the ANS Winter Meeting in Anaheim, CA in November.

Lewis is an emeritus professor in service in the Mechanical Engineering Department at Northwestern University, and his research has focused on computational methods of neutron transport, nuclear reactor physics, and reliability and risk assessment. His full profile is available online.

The Wigner Award was established in 1990 by the Reactor Physics Division to honor individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the advancement of the field of reactor physics. The award is named after the late Eugene P. Wigner, a pioneer who helped nurture the nuclear age to technical maturity.

The Nuclear Engineering Division of Argonne National Laboratory congratulates Elmer on this distinguished achievement.


Related Information


[ More News ]

Last Modified: Wed, April 20, 2016 9:42 AM


For more information:

For more information, please contact the Nuclear Engineering Division () at Argonne.


Contact NSE Division