Nuclear Engineering Division

Opportunities within NE Division

Visit Argonne
Work with Argonne
Contact us

Site Map

Join us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter NE on Flickr NE on YouTube

Reactors designed by Argonne National Laboratory


Ed Hoffman receives DOE Nuclear Energy Fuel Cycle R&D Excellence Award

Dr. Ed Hoffman

Nuclear engineer Ed Hoffman

November 11, 2015
Argonne nuclear engineer Edward Hoffman was recently recognized by the U.S. Department of Energy, Office of Nuclear Energy (DOE-NE) with a Nuclear Energy Fuel Cycle R&D Excellence Award.

The award was presented at the 2015 American Nuclear Society (ANS) Winter Meeting in Washington, DC, during a panel session titled "Progress in DOE's Fuel Cycle Research and Development Program". This session was held to recognize several early to mid-career researchers supporting DOE's Fuel Cycle R&D program. Recipients were nominated by their respective National Technical Directors and chosen by Andrew Griffith, Associate Deputy Assistant Secretary for Fuel Cycle Technologies.

As part of this session, Dr. Hoffman presented a talk on "Fuel Cycle Transition Analysis," based on his ongoing research for DOE-NE's Fuel Cycle Options Campaign. This work involves evaluating all aspects related to transitioning from current U.S. nuclear energy system to an alternative fuel cycle option including the behavior and performance of the system over time and the issues and challenges related to deploying the technologies needed to enable such a transition.

In addition to this work, Dr. Hoffman manages the Reactor & Fuel Cycle Analysis Section in Argonne’s Nuclear Engineering Division. His research at Argonne also includes reactor physics, fuel cycle analysis, and economics. Prior to joining Argonne in 2002, he studied at Georgia Tech, where he earned his Ph.D. in Nuclear Engineering.


Related Information

[ More News ]

Last Modified: Wed, April 20, 2016 9:41 AM


For more information:

For more information, please contact the Nuclear Engineering Division () at Argonne.


Contact NSE Division